Kubo reveals why he chose Real Madrid over Barca

Spanish newspaper Marca published an in depth interview with Takefusa Kubo ahead of Mallorca’s clash with Real Madrid this weekend.

First off, the 18-year-old addressed his label of the “Japanese Messi”, “It is an honour to be compared to a great player like Messi, but to be like him, I still have a lot to do.”

He was then asked about 16-year-old Ansu Fati, his former Barcelona teammate who got his big break this season. “I remember him. We played together with the likes of Eric Garcia (now at Man City). I provided him a pass and he scored. I think it is great for the club that players from the academy like Ansu and (Carles) Alena are playing in the first team.”

Kubo made known the reason he chose to sign for Real Madrid in the summer, despite interests from Barcelona and Paris Saint-Germain. “I really liked Madrid’s goals on the sporting side, their projects in the coming years, and the fact that the club was thinking about my future.”

The interviewer expressed surprise that an academy player from Barcelona would sign for Madrid, to which Kubo replied, “They showed me a plan for my career. And that convinced me.”

The Japan international was then asked about the rumoured clause in his contract guaranteeing him first-team football within two, three years at Barcelona or Madrid. “No, there is no such agreement. (Whether he can play in the first team) It’s all up to me.”

As for his loan move to Mallorca over staying with the Madrid reserves at Castilla, he said, “Both the club and agent arrived at the best decision after discussion, and the final decision was made by the player.”

Mallorca will take on Real Madrid at home on 19 October. And the anticipation to see Kubo square off against his parent club will be high.


For Japanese football news: CoolJapan Soccer

Source: Yahoo
Image: Yahoo

Leave a comment